Meatless Pot Pie

I can only make  things in big portions, apparently, so this recipe (faux meat mix) will make about 4-6 pies depending on the size of the tray used. I used small silicone loaf trays that are about 4X6in.

Oven Temp: 350 F

Pie Crust
3C Flour
1/4 C milk
1/3 C Olive oil
2 Eggs

Add ingredients into a mixing bowl and either hand combine with a fork or use dough hook attachment on your mixer if you have one. Then roll it out and fit it to your cooking trays. This amount of dough made 2 pies for me, using 4X6 in trays.

Faux Meat Filling

1C Black Beans
1/2 C Job’s Tears
2 Lg Yellow Onions
Chinese Mustard Green
Carrot
Green Onion These amounts solely depend on preference.
Peas
Mushroom

First boil together the black beans and job’s tears. Boil until they are the texture you desire. When the beans and job’s tears are about 5 min from being done begin soaking the textured soy protein. (I season the bean boiling water a little beef bouillon, garlic powder and sea salt) If there is a little water left from the beans pour it into the TSP, it will give it a meaty color (all the better to trick you with, my dear). Put beans and TSP in a bowl and mix so that all ingredients are distributed evenly.

Then sautee the vegies. I use olive oil normally, but butter is a ok, also. Set aside veggies and start gravy and add meat mix to dough lined trays.

Gravy
Flour
Olive oil
milk
water
mushroom bouillon
beef bouillon
black pepper

Make a rue. Once it is the desired consistency add your milk a little at a time so that you can manage the thickness to your liking. If you want to cut fat use milk and water. Add bouillon and pepper to taste, the bouillon should eliminate any need for salt.

Spoon some gravy over the meat in the trays then add a layer of veggies and spoon more gravy onto the pie. Top it with crust, then throw it in the oven for 45 min or so.

Notes: This is also great for shepherds pie. Instead of top crust ad mashed potatoes with some cheese and a drizzle of olive oil or butter.

I know I use a lot of olive oil, this is due to the fact that I live abroad and olive oil is much cheaper than butter. I refuse to use margarine…ick! Also it ensures some additional omega 3s in addition to my supplements. This is a protein packed meal that will keep you energized and comfortably full for hours. This is my power food for the gym.

